Informit article: No accountability

While selected articles are available in full on this website, all Arena Quarterly, Arena Magazine and Arena Journal articles are available for purchase in PDF format from Informit.


Over the last six years Australia has had three prime ministers: Tony Abbott (the self-styled ‘Prime Minister for Aboriginal Affairs’ and champion of new paternalism), Malcolm Turnbull (who rejected the Uluru Statement) and Scott Morrison (who has been largely silent on Indigenous policy altogether). But during this time Indigenous Australia has had only one minister, Northern Territory senator Nigel Scullion. When he retires at the next federal election, Scullion’s record in the portfolio will remain largely unscrutinised. And yet his departure should have come much sooner.

Details / PDF:

The full-text PDF of this article can be purchased from Informit.

Support Arena

Independent publications and critical thought are more important than ever. Arena has never relied on or received government funding. It has sustained its activities largely through the voluntary work and funding provided by editors and supporters. If Arena is to continue and to expand its readership, we need your support to do it.