About Arena

Arena is well known in Melbourne and Australia more broadly as a publication which has made an impact on political and cultural interpretation and practice over a period of more than thirty years. However, Arena is more than this or that publication. It is composed of a core of people with a large number of friends and supporters who have established various venues and discussion projects in Melbourne and its environs as well as engaging in a variety of practical endeavours over this period.

The core value of co-operation stands at the centre of what motivates and structures the practices and discussions of people at Arena. It is a value which has had superficial meanings for many groups, but be that as it may, it needs to be re-thought in fundamental ways given the collapse of older notions of socialist co-operation. This project enlivens all the discussions held in Arena settings and shapes the activities and publications of Arena editors.

Over the last three decades people associated with Arena have established research and conference facilities in both the country and the city, and in the latter there is a thriving centre which combines publication, public discussion and a commercial printery.

Arena has never accepted government support of any kind and has been fortunate to have been valued sufficiently by its friends for them to help its development financially in a variety of ways.

At present, Arena has a Trust established for this purpose. To find out more, please call John Hinkson (03) 9416 0232

Arena Publications
General Editor: Geoff Sharp
Editors: Nonie Sharp, John Hinkson, Paul James, Alison Caddick, Simon Cooper

Arena Journal Editors: Geoff Sharp, John Hinkson, Paul James, Alison Caddick, Simon Cooper
Secretary: Cleo Macmillan

Arena Magazine Editors: Alison Caddick, Valerie Krips, Grazyna Zajdow

Online Development and Editor: Christopher Scanlon, Simon Cooper, Zoe Hatten

Associate Editors (Board Members): Alison Caddick, Paul James, Geoff Sharp, Nonie Sharp, Matthew Ryan, Christopher Scanlon, Simon Cooper, Valerie Krips, Julie Stephens

Comments are closed.